Thursday, July 31, 2014

Boston’s Heaven On Earth Tour Touches Down In Central Texas

Boston’s Heaven On Earth Tour Touches Down In Central Texas

Photo By Scott Moore / Limelight Images

By Margy Moore

The Cedar Park Center, in the Austin suburb of Cedar Park, Texas, played host to some good old-time Rock and Roll on July 20 when Boston and their tour mates, Night Ranger, performed for an enthusiastic crowd of fans. Long-time fans of both bands had high hopes for an entertaining evening of music and they weren’t disappointed by these veteran acts.

Night Ranger was first on the stage. They quickly claimed the audience’s attention as guitarists Joel Hoekstra and Brad Gillis showcased their phenomenal guitar skills and front man, bassist Jack Blades lead vocals on “Touch of Madness.”  

After that, drummer Kelly Keagy took over the lead on “Swing Me Away.” From that point on, the audience was as much a part of the band as the actual members, singing along for 50 minutes to many of Night Ranger’s mega hits. The audience’s participation fit well with the band’s high-energy performance, as Hoekstra, Gillis and Blades freely moved across the stage gratefully smiling at the crowd. Blades, one of the founding members of Damn Yankees, lead the band in covers of “High Enough” and “Coming of Age.” Other songs performed included “Four in the Morning,” “High Road,” “Eddie’s Comin’ Out Tonight,” “When You close Your Eyes,” and “Don’t Tell Me You Love Me.”  After the rest of the band left the stage, drummer Kelly Keagy and keyboardist Eric Levy began a subdued intro to “Sister Christian.” The rest of the band rejoined them for a powerful finish and the closing number for the night, “(You Can Still) Rock In America.”

After Night Ranger got the audience pumped for some rock and roll, Boston took over the night. Boston is currently on tour in support of their long-awaited 6th studio album, “Live, Love and Hope,” which was released last year. This was the first album released since the 2007 death of the band’s lead singer Brad Delp.

While the band has numerous illustrious members since the release of their first album 38 years ago, Boston is still lead by founding member, guitarist, keyboardist, songwriter and producer Tom Schulz. Boston’s new lead singer, Tommy DeCarlo, did a good job as the band performed hit after hit including “Rock and Roll Band,” “Smokin’,” “It’s Been Such A Long Time,” “Don’t Look Back,” “Amanda,” and “More than A Feeling.” Along with the classic Boston hits, the band also added “Life, Love and Hope” and “Last Day of School” from their latest album. During “Walk On,” American Idol Season 9 finalist Siobhan Magnus sang lead vocals. In all, the set consisted of twenty-two great tracks that satisfied Boston’s classic rock and roll fan base.

Joining Schulz and DeCarlo on tour are 28-year Boston member Gary Pihl on guitar and vocals, Kimberley Dahme on rhythm guitar and vocals, and Tracy Ferrie on bass and vocals. The drumming duties on tour are being split between veteran Boston drummers Jeff Neal and Curly Smith, with Neal handling the first leg of the tour and Smith the second.

Boston’s Heaven On Earth Tour will continue across the United States through September 5. While the opening acts have varied from .38 Special to Night Ranger to The Doobie Brothers and Cheap Trick, you can be sure you will be able to hear some great old Rock and Roll at any of Boston’s tour stops.

1.       Rock and Roll Band
2.       Smokin’
3.       Feelin’ Satisfied
4.       Last Day of School
5.       Life, Love and Hope
6.       Peace of Mind
7.       It’s Been Such A Long Time
8.       Cool The Engines
9.       Surrender To Me
10.   Don’t Look Back
11.   Something About You
12.   Amanda
13.   The Launch
14.   More Than A Feeling
15.   Instrumental – Tom Schulz guitar solo
16.   A New World
17.   To Be A Man
18.   Walk On – with Siobhan Magnus on lead vocals
19.   Get Oran-ized
20.   Walk On (Some More)
21.   Foreplay/ Long Time
22.   Encore: Party

No comments:

Post a Comment